Job Seekers Be Wary of Credit Report Scam
Job Seekers Be Wary of Credit Report ScamKKTV Blog Listing
Job Seekers Be Wary of Credit Report Scam
Topic Author: Betty Sexton
Posted: 3:34 PM Sep 8, 2009
Replies Posted: 2 comments
Save Email Print
Recent Blog Topics

     I want to thank KKTV colleague Jamey Hastings for telling me about this scam which showed up in her inbox.  I think it's upsetting because it targets those who are looking for work.  The email claims to be from Human Resource Director Jerry Brooks.  Jerry says he has a copy of your resume and knows about a great job opportunity for you.. part time or full time.  But before you can collect your first paycheck, you must fill out a credit report.  Jerry very conveniently puts a link to the site he wants you to visit.  He claims it's free, but don't believe him... it's not.  www.identitylookout.com  costs $9.95 a month, but you might not see that information buried in the fine print.

     One red flag is the email has a lot of grammatical errors and appears to be written by a foreigner.  I'm afraid those desperate for work... might fill it out anyway... thinking it's free.  The only free site I know of is annualcreditreport.com.  Don't be fooled by the others who claim they're free, but make you wade through a lot of legalese to discover that they indeed come with strings attached.

     If you're suspicious about an email or mailer feel free to send it to me and I'll be happy to check it out.  Nothing's worse than being out of work and falling prey to a scam that just benefits the crooks. 

    

Post Your Comments
First Name:
Email (optional):
Location:
Enter Comments:  
   characters left
Email will not be displayed on site. For station contact purpose only.
Read Comments
Posted by: G Location: St. Louis, MO
I'm glad to find this article. I am currently seeking a job, and have received these types of emails back, which link to a credit report site. One red flag is that they replied to my resumes very quickly, whereas most companies take their sweet time. Replies that come from ordinary emails, like aol.com, are also a warning. The jobs may advertise an unusually high salary. Also, the company's website may seem very vague, albeit professional. One email I got had spelling errors, but another was written very well. Be careful!

Posted by: Kristen Location: Fort Myers, Fl
A similar situation- I found a rental on craigslist, and before i was able to see the property, a woman wanted me to fill out a credit report first for eligibility. she sent me a url - http://trustedcreditreference.com/ and hwen you go there, it goes to identitylookout.com. It was not poorly written, but very professional offering help with a rental home. The price was low for what they were offering, and they gave a lot of detail about the property. I am not sure if it is a scam, and I read the website of course, so I knew there was a fee, but this could be a way they are generating business.